Notes from the Field: Doing Time in Education

Date: 

Saturday, August 20, 2016, 7:30pm

Repeats every day until Sat Sep 17 2016 except Sun Aug 21 2016, Mon Aug 22 2016, Sun Aug 28 2016, Mon Aug 29 2016, Sun Sep 04 2016, Mon Sep 05 2016, Tue Sep 06 2016, Sun Sep 11 2016, Mon Sep 12 2016

Location: 

Loeb Drama Center, 64 Brattle St.

Presented by: American Repertory Theater
Tickets: from $25
How to get tickets: A.R.T. box office
RunsAugust 20 - September 17, 2016
CALL FOR DIALOGUE FACILITATORS AT PERFORMANCES: APPLY BY AUGUST 5. More information>

Created, written, and performed by Anna Deavere Smith
Music composed and performed by Marcus Shelby
Directed by Leonard Foglia

Urgent and inspiring, Notes from the Field: Doing Time in Education outlines the civil rights crisis currently erupting at the intersection between America’s education system and its mass incarceration epidemic. In act one, Anna Deavere Smith introduces the students, parents, teachers, and administrators caught in America’s school-to-prison “pipeline” through her trademark portrait performances.  

A leader in national conversations on race and justice, Smith (Fires in the MirrorTwilight: Los Angeles, 1992Let Me Down Easy; “Nurse Jackie”) now asks audiences to talk back. In the tradition of call and response, a second act before a final coda performance invites audiences to reflect on how we might begin to collectively move forward from difficult histories and devastating social policies.