Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award for Emerging Leaders in Entertainment Technology


Wed - Thu, Jan 3 to Feb 15, 12:00pm - 12:00pm


Apply by mail

Presented by: DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group
Deadline to submit completed application: February 15, 2018
More information

Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award for Emerging Leaders in Entertainment TechnologyDEG: The Digital Entertainment Group is pleased to announce the annual student award of $10,000, the "Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award for Emerging Leaders in Entertainment Technology," which recognizes female college students in their Junior Year who have shown exceptional promise in the fields of entertainment and technology.

Austrian-American actress Hedy Lamarr, a legendary Hollywood actress, was also a lifelong inventor whose innovative work included pioneering "frequency hopping" which became the foundation for radio guidance which she and composer George Antheil patented in 1942, and is utilized today for a variety of cellular, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth applications

The Award will be presented in November 2018, to coincide with the 104th anniversary of Hedy Lamarr's birth. To honor Ms. Lamarr, the scholarship seeks to encourage and enable highly motivated students to pursue opportunities available to them in entertainment technology, be those pursuits academic or professional. The award winner will receive $10,000 as they enter their senior year of undergraduate study. While there are no specific restrictions on the use of this monetary award, we hope and expect that the funds will be used to further the winner’s study or efforts in their recognized area of excellence. 

To be eligible to receive the Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award, the candidate must be a female student in good standing, in her junior year at an accredited, U.S. based, academic institution. The candidate must be a citizen of the United States and have a minimum 3.0 GPA. The candidate must submit the completed application by February 15, 2018 and to provide proof of eligibility or other information as reasonably requested by the DEG and the Judging Panel. The Judging Panel has sole discretion in the choosing the Award winner.