Boston Chamber Music Society / Mozart, Mendelssohn, and Faure


Sunday, September 24, 2017, 7:30pm


Sanders Theatre

Program includes Mozart, Mendelssohn and Fauré with featured musicians: Yura Lee & Harumi Rhodes, violins; Marcus Thompson & Dimitri Murrath, violas; Raman Ramakrishnan, cello; Max Levinson, piano.

Presented by: Boston Chamber Music Society
Tickets: See Additional Information
How to get tickets: The Harvard Box Office 617-496-2222

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, K. 493

Felix Mendelssohn
Viola Quintet in B-flat Major, Op. 87

Gabriel Fauré
Piano Quartet in G Minor, Op. 45

Woven from echoes, the Larghetto in the Piano Quartet in E-flat Major is one of Mozart’s most elegant slow movements. The piano leads the way in the last movement, dancing in technical flourishes around the united strings. Powered by buoyant triplets and vigorous tremolos, the opening movement of Mendelssohn’s Viola Quintet in B-flat Major is pure energy. Rhythmic unity sustains the funereal Adagio e lento before giving way to a rollicking last movement that takes a brief respite before hurtling to a forceful finish. Replete with Fauré’s trademark harmonic complexity and fluid phrase endings, the Piano Quartet in G minor is what Aaron Copland aptly described as “intensity on a background of calm.” The piano at the beginning of the slow movement mirrors the composer’s childhood recollection of the tolling of bells in the village of Cadirac—a singular event for Fauré, who was a vigilant believer in aestheticism.