Boston Chamber Music Society / Brahms, Kodály, and Dvořák


Sunday, November 13, 2016, 7:30pm


Sanders Theatre

Presented by: Boston Chamber Music Society
Tickets: Full Price: $57, $46, $35, $24 Students: $8; Seniors & WGBH members: $4 Off; Harvard Outings & Innings: $6 Off; Student Rush: $5 (starts 90 minutes prior to concert, based on availability).
How to get tickets: The Harvard Box Office 617-496-2222

Johannes Brahms, Sonata for Violin and Piano in D minor, Op. 108; Zoltán Kodály,
Serenade for Two Violins and Viola, Op. 12 (1920); Antonín Dvořák, Piano Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 87. Featured Musicians: Yura Lee & Harumi Rhodes, violins; Marcus Thompson, viola; Colin Carr, cello; Max Levinson, piano.

The somewhat agitated first movement of the Brahms D minor sonata instantly sets it apart from its more melodious siblings, G and F minor. The violin sonata is Brahms’s shortest, but its four movements showcase the full range of human emotion. In his Serenade for Two Violins and Viola Kodály embraces both the melodic implications and complex rhythmic meters inherent in Hungarian folksongs, thus narrating a dynamic story and a reverent tribute to his homeland. “The melodies just surged upon me,” said Dvořák of his second piano quartet, which he wrote in just over a month. In the quartet’s final movement, Dvořák releases melodies evocative of Gypsy dances before concluding the work with an orchestral denouement.