Boston Chamber Music Society / Beethoven, Debussy, and Dvorak


Sunday, March 11, 2018, 7:30pm


Sanders Theatre

Program includes music by Beethoven, Debussy and Dvořák with featured musicians: Jennifer Frautschi, violin; Dimitri Murrath, viola; Colin Carr, cello; Andrew Armstrong, piano.

Presented by: Boston Chamber Music Society
Tickets: See Additional Information
How to get tickets: The Harvard Box Office 617-496-2222

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Trio in D Major, Op. 9 No. 2

Claude Debussy
Sonata for Violin and Piano in G Minor, L. 140

Antonin Dvořák
Piano Trio in F minor, Op. 65

Despite being sandwiched between more temperamental trios, Beethoven’s Trio in D major, Op. 9, No. 2 was written with clearly classical intent. The masterful interweaving of melodic lines in the second movement illustrates the classical period at its best. Debussy’s Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor was written by a man sick with disease and heartbroken from war. And while the first movement restlessly fluctuates in tempo, key, and theme, the last movement ends with an ecstatic outpouring of notes in G major; the Finale is, as Debussy himself proclaimed, “full of happiness and uproar.” Pressured to abandon his beloved Slavic nationalism, Dvořák wrote the powerful Piano Trio in F minor in 1883 both amidst this conflict and while grieving the death of his mother. The brilliant third movement, Poco adagio, strongly evokes Brahms and Schubert, diffusing the energy of the two preceding movements to sing an elegant, heartfelt adieu.